The Center for Immunology is an interdisciplinary research program at the University of Minnesota devoted to advancing the field of immunology and educating future immunologists.

Autoimmunity Cancer Vaccines Cures

Latest News 



55th Annual J.S. and H.R. Blumenthal Memorial Lectureship welcomes Anne O'Garra, PhD

On Friday, April 28, 2017, Dr. Anne O'Garra, Associate Research Director, Francis Crick Institute, London, England,  will deliver the 55th Annual J.S. And H.R. Blumenthal Memorial lecture at 12:00 p.m. in the Mayo Auditorium.  Dr. O'Garra's lecture will be "Systems Approaches to Studying the Immune Response in Tuberculosis." Download flyer here




Congratulations to Dr. David Masopust, a new HHMI Faculty Scholar!!

Creative solutions to everyday problems and cutting-edge science have been rewarded as Dr. David Masopust has been named to the inaugural class of Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) Faculty Scholars.  Read the complete article here


Thanks to everyone who participated in The March for Science


On April 22, 2017, a group of CFI and EWIS members from the University of Minnesota joined over 10,000 other Minnesotans to march on the state capitol to show support of higher education and the discovery, access, and understanding of scientific information. The march was to remind everyone that we are working to protect and defend science funding, regulatory agencies, and evidence based policy-making in recognition that science plays a vital role in the progress and sustainability of society.


More center news

  • Co-housing with pet store mice changes the immune system of laboratory mice

    In this April 20, 2016 issue of Nature, Lalit Beura, Sara Hamilton, Marc Jenkins, Vaiva Vezys, Steve Jameson, Dave Masopust, show evidence of how laboratory rodents can skew immunology research but that "dirty mice" can clean up the results. Read more

  • Tolerance is established in polyclonal CD4+ T cells by distinct mechanisms, according to self-peptide expression patterns

    In this February 2016 Nature Immunology article, Deepali Malhotra, T. Dileepan, You Jeong Lee, Brian Fife, Kris Hogquist, Marc Jenkins, explain how tolerance mechanisms identified in eGFp-expressing mouse strains govern tolerance to true self antigens. Read more

  • Tumor specific T cells interacting with B16 Tumor cells& CD11c YFP DCs, courtesy of Brian Fife and Jason Mitchell

    Jason Mitchell and Brian Fife show Tumor specific T cells (red and green) interacting with B16 Tumor cells (blue) and CD11c YFP DCs (yellow)

  • Efficient generation of monoclonal antibodies against peptide in the context of MHCII using magnetic enrichment.

    In this June 2016 Nature Communications article Justin Spanier, Dmitri Kotov, Marc Jenkins, Brian Fife, et al show that after infection with Listeria monocytogenes expressing 2W and W6 antibody treatment, 2W-specific cells were magnetically enriched from the spleen of C57Bl6 mice. Read More

  • Regulated activation of TGF-b by stromal cells can directly control epithelial residence of cells of the immune system through a novel mechanism of intercellular communication.

    Javed Mohammed, Dave Masopust, Lalit Beura, Emily Thompson and Dan Kaplan, et al, report that UV irradiation promotes Langerhans cell migration through diminished integrin expression and TGF-b activation. Read More

  • Antagonism of B cell enhancer networks by STAT5 drives leukemia and poor patient survival

    In Nature Immunology, April 2017, Casey Katerndahl, Lynn Heltemes-Harris and Michael Farrar, identify that the activation of STAT5 acts in synergy with pre-BCR signaling defects to deregulate the expression of NF-κB target genes. Read More

  • Yoji Shimizu, PhD

    Distinguished University Teaching Professor, Laboratory Medicine and Pathology; Director, Medical Scientist Training Program (MD/PhD); Assistant Dean for Graduate Education

  • Daniel Mueller, MD

    Director of Rheumatic and Autoimmune Diseases; Professor, Medicine

  • Alexander Khoruts, MD

    Professor, Medicine

  • Announcements

    U of MN Faculty

    Become a Member

    Tea and Talk!!

    every Monday and Thursday

    2:30 p.m. | 2-163 WMBB

    April 26

    Immunology Supergroup
    Jenkins Lab

    1:30-2:30 p.m. | 1-125 CCRB

    April 26

    Surgical Transplant Conference
    ATC Practice Talks

    4:00-5:00 p.m. | 11-157 PWB

    April 28

    55th Annual Blumenthal Memorial Lectureship Series
    Anne O'Garra, Ph.D.

    "Systems Approaches to Studying the Immune Response in Tuberculosis."

    12:00-1:00 p.m. | Mayo Auditorium (Lunch provided)

    May 1

    Immunology Journal Club
    Farrar Lab

    10:00-11:30 a.m. | 1-125 CCRB

    May 2

    Infection and Immunity Research Conference


    12:00-1:00 p.m. | 1-101 MRF (Lunch provided)

    May 3

    Immunology Supergroup
    Jameson Lab

    1:30-2:30 p.m. | 1-125 CCRB

    May 3

    Surgical Transplant Conference

    4:00-5:00 p.m. | 11-157 PWB

    May 5

    Department of Pharmacology Seminar Series
    Wendy Gordon, PhD

    "Decoding Mechanotransduction Mechanisms of Cell-Surface Receptors"

    12:00-1:00 p.m. | 2-101 NHH

    Research ethics at the University of Minnesota

    We are committed to protecting research participants, upholding ethical standards, and improving our practice at every step of our work.

    Learn more about our commitment to research ethics