Bryce Binstadt, MD, PhD, has received a Pilot Grant award from the Rheumatology Research Foundation for his research project titled “Targeting inflammatory joint pain with ultra-potent analgesics.”


Javed cover

Congratulations to Javed Mohammed, his paper on the role of stromal cells in controlling residence of immune cells in epidermis has been published in the April Issue of Nature Immunology.

med school honor

Several CFI graduate students were honored at the 2016 Medical School Honors and Awards Ceremony, which took place on Wednesday, April 20, 2016.  This annual event recognizes students, residents, fellows, and faculty who are outstanding in their endeavors at the University of Minnesota Medical School.


Congratulations to Dr. Brian Fife for the feature on his diabetes research in the Spring 2016 University of Minnesota Foundation Newsletter!   

Click here to read the story by Suzy Frisch and to find out how you can contribute to the fight against Type 1 Diabetes.

s jameson

Stephen Jameson to employ CRISPR/Cas genome editing in memory T-cell studies to track where the cells reside in experimental mice.

Kris Hogquist is a 2015 inductee into the AHC Academy of Excellence in Health Research.

Kris Hogquist is a 2015 inductee into the AHC Academy of Excellence in Health Research.

You can see her plaque on the wall in the PWB/Moos concourse. The citation reads "Kristin Hogquist is widely recognized by the international scientific community for her many important contributions in the field of immunology.  Her work helped to put the University of Minnesota on the map as a major international center for immunology research.”



The Award for Outstanding Contributions to Postbaccalaureate, Graduate, and Professional Education (Graduate-Professional Award) was established in 1999 to recognize contributions to postbaccalaureate, graduate, and professional education.  There will be an awards ceremony at the McNamara Alumni Center on Tuesday, April 26 from 4:00 to 6:00 PM.


The 2W antigen was devised by co-author James Moon, PhD, of Harvard Medical School, and Marc K. Jenkins, PhD, of the University of Minnesota.  Using a technique to carry the "model antigen" 2W, the UCSF researchers led by Tiffany C. Scharschmidt, MD,  could precisely monitor the specific immune response to the modified bacterium Staphylococcus epidermidis, which they dubbed Epi-2W.

 Yoji Shimizu and Jill Siegfried (Pharmacology) received NIH R25 funding for a five year education program entitled Cancer Research, Education, and Training Experience (CREATE)

Michael Farrar's publication “The molecular cell biology of interferon-Ƴ and its receptor" was one of inaugural articles placed on the Wall of Scholarship.  The wall features high-impact papers of faculty as a first or last author that have been cited over 1,000 times as measured by two of three major citation indices.