Williams lab Nature Immunology paper

Join CFI as we recognize all the recipients of 2020 awards and honors.  We are so fortunate to have such an innovative and creative group of researchers. Congratulations for a job well done.

Yoji Shimizu

Dr. Yoji Shimizu from the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology helped launch Faculty Fighting Racism, a @UMNews initiative created as a first step to provide resources for understanding anti-racism and empowering faculty to take action.

alex k

Dr. Alex Khoruts shares the important role the microbiome plays in a patients recovery. As the director of the U’s Microbiota Therapeutics Program he talks about his hopes that a multidisciplinary center that facilitates all microbiome research will soon be a possibility at the U.

facts and myths

Drs. Amy Karger and Marc Jenkins provided factual information to The Wall Street Journal about antibody or serology tests—blood tests designed to detect who was previously infected with the new coronavirus and has developed antibodies to it. 

USA today article

Dr. Marc Jenkins is quoted in a USA Today story about scientists continuing to work on essential projects while socially distancing in the lab. 

Marc 2019

Considered to be one of the countries high performing medical school, the University of Minnesota believes that promoting and rewarding a culture of excellence is key in maintaining high standards. One way of displaying specifically how we impact medicine is to showcase those who exemplify the mission. Dr. Marc Jenkins was showcased, in an interview about how he has sought and discovered answers about our world through science.

Star trib article

CFI director Dr. Marc Jenkins explains how the University of Minnesota and Mayo Clinic are close to unveiling antibody tests that can determine if people have already been infected by the coronavirus that causes COVID-19 and are no longer threats to get or spread the infection.


The Star Tribune's Christopher Snowbeck and CFI's Director Marc Jenkins talk about "a whole new approach to vaccines" using viral RNA instead of the way current vaccines are produced using a weakened or killed form of a virus to stimulate an immune system response that produces antibodies.